The Italy Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Opening a bank account in Italy

5 posters

Go down

Opening a bank account in Italy Empty Opening a bank account in Italy

Post by Stratocaster Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:46 pm

Is it possible to open a bank account with an italian bank when not being resident in Italy?

Is there a down side to opening an italian bank account (charges etc)?

Stratocaster
Contributor

Back to top Go down

Opening a bank account in Italy Empty Re: Opening a bank account in Italy

Post by Hazy Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:00 am

You'll need a codice fiscale and also to forget about free banking! As a resident I initially banked with Banca Marche but quickly changed to Banca Posta where the charges are merely €4/month as opposed to the much larger ones I had been paying. Good luck!

Hazy
Elder

Back to top Go down

Post by Gala Placidia Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:11 pm

Italian bank fees are amongst the highest in the world, but the convenience of organising direct debit for most of your bills is worth it. To open a bank account you will need your passport, codice fiscale and some document that could be used as evidence of address in Italy (title deed, rent contract, utilities bill...)
Gala Placidia
Gala Placidia

Back to top Go down

Post by Hazy Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:32 pm

Gala is quite right - as she always is, thank goodness! I have all my utility bills (gas, electricity, water, phone) set up by direct debit so they will be paid if I am not here - you don't get any reminders to pay, just a couple of weeks. It doesn't cost me any more and does give peace of mind.

Hazy
Elder

Back to top Go down

Post by clombardelli Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:06 am