The Italy Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

IVIE on UK property owned by 'management company'?

4 posters

Go down

IVIE on UK property owned by 'management company'? Empty IVIE on UK property owned by 'management company'?

Post by rachel68 Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:52 am

I have a flat in the UK in a building of which I am the sole freeholder and am in the process of selling half of the freehold to the owner of the flat above. We have the option of setting up a 'management company' to own the flats and us both being directors and granting ourselves long leases. My question is as follows....would this make any difference (as I am currently an Italian resident) to my IVIE liability on this flat which is currently rented out? Reading the last few posts on IVIE it may well be I'm not liable anyway as although I took residency in Italy back in Feb 26th I am jointly between UK and Italy right now and waiting for a decision whether a job move will in fact send us to France by September so I'm not sure I'll be over the 183 days and have no income from Italy. Many thanks!

rachel68
Elder

Back to top Go down

IVIE on UK property owned by 'management company'? Empty Re: IVIE on UK property owned by 'management company'?

Post by Admin Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:59 am

Well, you would be liable to pay income tax in Italy on any income from the Management Company in the form of tax on the dividends. The Italian tax authority may also decide that your company is really based in Italy and therefore the company must also pay tax in Italy. It is a complicated area and there are sme things you can do to protect yourself from this happening but you should pay for some proper advice before setting the company up.

I would say is it worth it? For the amount you would save in IVIE you will probably spend the same in extra accountants fees each year for doing the books of the 'company'.